Air Products South Africa has released the results from its’ annual awards evening – held to celebrate and recognise safety and quality.

The winner of the Dexter Baker individual award was Christo van der Mescht, commended for his dedication to mentoring and developing employees, while the Dexter Baker team award went to the Management Accounts team of Peter Cameron, Michael Ras, Kobus Bester and Jason Williams on the basis of their commitment to improving their service to the business units.

Other awards included the ‘Near Miss’ safety award, which went to Carel Adams, who reported the most near misses, thereby helping to ensure that these at risk situations do not re-occur.

Cape Town branch received the Chairman’s Shield Safety Award for its ongoing commitment to improving the overall EH&S (environment, health and safety) at the facility, while the Vanderbijlpark branch won the Leonard Parker Poole award, based on the NOSA audit year-on-year improvement.

With its strong focus on customer service excellence, Air Products recognises achievements in this area through the internal and external Geoff Prevett Customer Service Awards, which are based on the results of Air Products’ annual cross-functional internal and external customer satisfaction surveys respectively.

The Geoff Prevett internal award for 2013 went to the Management Accounts team, under the leadership of last year’s Dexter Baker individual award-winner, Gaetano Perillo, while the Port Elizabeth Facility team received the External Geoff Prevett Customer Service award.

The awards ceremony culminated in the MD`s Special Awards, which recognise both individual employees and teams who show an ongoing commitment to quality.

The MD`s Special Awards to individuals went to Kaushik Tailor in recognition of his demonstrated commitment to key MIS projects, and to Mike du Toit for his leadership role in numerous maintenance improvement projects.

The MD`s Special Awards for team work went to the Specialty Gas / CryoEase sales team, the Air Separation Unit 2012 maintenance shut down team, the Receivables team, and the Packaged Gases Contingency Plan team. The individual members of these teams were recognised for their cooperation, excellence and dedication to driving performance efficiency within their teams.

Customers are the real winners


A key theme throughout the Awards evening was that of recognising those who made a substantive contribution, through investing their time and efforts in providing service that delivers the difference.

“The total commitment to quality, demonstrated by this year’s winners, creates value for our customers and differentiates us from our competitors,” notes le Roux.

“The commitment to best practice principles in safety and quality, as demonstrated by all the winners this year, will serve as an inspiration to the rest of the company in our quest for ever higher standards.  But ultimately it is our customers who are the real winners, as the recipients of Air Products’ reliable, dedicated service and stringent safety and quality procedures,” Hellyar concludes.