Airgas Merchant Gases, a division of Airgas, an Air Liquide company, signed a Statement of Support for the Guard and Reserve with the Texas Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR), a Department of Defence programme, on 15th May, at the company’s West Little York Road Offices in Houston.

The Statement of Support confirms Airgas Merchant Gases joins hundreds of thousands of employers in pledging:

  • To fully recognise, honour and comply with the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA).
  • To provide company managers and supervisors with the tools they need to effectively manage employees who serve in the Guard and Reserve.
  • To appreciate the values, leadership and unique skills service members bring to the workforce and to encourage opportunities to hire guardsmen, reservists and veterans.
  • And to continually recognise and support US service members and their families, in peace, in crises and in war.

Tom Thoman, Airgas Senior Vice-President, Merchant Gases, commented, “Airgas has a longstanding history of hiring military veterans and supporting military families, including our 10-year partnership with the Operation Homefront organisation. By signing this statement, Airgas Merchant Gases is furthering our commitment and demonstrating our organisation’s support of the Guard and Reserve (ESGR).”

Eddy Spurgin, ESGR state chair, added, “Airgas Merchant Gases joins thousands of America’s employers in demonstrating support for our armed forces. Supportive employers are critical to maintaining the strength and readiness of the nation’s Guard and Reserve units. By signing the Statement of Support, Airgas Merchant Gases pledges to stand proudly with its Guard and Reserve employees, who continue to answer their nation’s call to defend our way of life.”

(L-R): Michael Sweeney, Darren Brandes (back row), Eric Johnson, Anthony Ha, Juan DeJesus (back row), Tom Thoman, Chris McCrea (back row), Brian Seiffert and Mark Szabo

(L-R): Marie Anstead, Abby Baker, Tim Cronin (ESGR) Major General (Retired) Eddy Spurgin (ESGR Texas, Chair), Tom Thoman, Major General (Retired) Dr. Jerry Icenhower , PE (ESGR), Ruth Rambaran (ESGR), Chris McCrae (back row red tie), Bill Cyrus (ESGR), George Nami (ESGR and Scott Johnson (far right).