The Compressed Gas Association (CGA) announced the winners of the 2014 safety awards at the Safety Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the Association’s Annual Meeting in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.

The CGA is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial and medical gas industry.

Each year, it pays tribute to its members and their dedication in making the industry safer for employees, distributors, and the public.

Fleet Safety Excellence Award

Sponsored by Praxair, Inc., the award was created in 1988 to recognize outstanding safety performance among the industry’s bulk and cylinder truck delivery fleets.

The award is based on a CGA member company’s total Vehicle Accident Frequency Rate. There are four categories for this award, two each for Bulk Vehicle Fleets and Cylinder Vehicle Fleets. The winners are:

Bulk Gas Transportation:

  • Less than 20 million miles – Genox Transportation, Inc.
  • More than 20 million miles – Airgas, Inc. 
Cylinder Gas Transportation: 

  • Less than 3 million miles – Western International Gas & Cylinders, Inc.
  • More than 3 million miles – Matheson

Leonard Parker Pool Safety Award

Sponsored by Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., the award was created in 1978 in memory of Leonard Parker Pool, the founder and former chief executive of Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. The awards are presented annually to the participating CGA member companies that have recorded the greatest improvement in safety performance during the previous two years, and are based upon the total recordable case incidence rates as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. There are two divisions of the award based on employee exposure hours. The winners are: 

  • Group 1 – More than 2 million employee exposure hours – American Air Liquide Holdings, Inc.
  • Group 2 – 2 million or less employee exposure hours – Eleet Cryogenics Inc.

CGA/GAWDA Distributor Safety Award

Sponsored by CGA and the Gases and Welding Distributors Association (GAWDA), the award program was created in 2012. The awards honor the participating GAWDA distributor member companies that have shown the greatest improvement in safety performance. There are two divisions of the award. The winners are:

  • Group 1 – More than 100,000 employee exposure hours – Lampton Welding Supply
  • Group 2 – 100,000 or fewer employee exposure hours – Cryo Weld Corporation

New Committee Member of the Year Award

Sponsored by Chart Industries, this new service award was created in 2014. The award recognizes an individual with less than three years of CGA committee participation for their character, commitment, and contribution to uphold and further the mission of the CGA—to develop and promote safety standards and safe practices for the industrial gas industry. The award was presented to Jason Bombard of Western International Gas & Cylinders, Inc.

Charles H. Glasier Safety Award

Sponsored by American Air Liquide Holdings, this award was created in 1994 and is given in memory of Charles H. Glasier, a leader in the industry, a strong supporter of safety, a former CGA chairman (1980), and an active participant in the CGA for more than 40 years. The award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of their safety leadership in the industrial gas industry. The award was presented to Algirdas G. Vilkas of Praxair, Inc.

Environmental Recognition Award

Sponsored by Linde North America, Inc., and established in 2000, the CGA Environmental Recognition Program identifies and shares good environmental practices as well as promotes environmental awareness and improvements with companies and the industry. Awards are presented annually to a CGA member facility, team, or individual who has demonstrated environmental excellence through environmental accomplishments going above and beyond regulatory requirements. Awards were given for the following project:

Linde North America, Inc.’s Retail Hydrogen Fueling Station Team: First retail fueling station for hydrogen powered cars in the United States

CGA Canada Morris Gold Award

Sponsored by CGA, and established in 2001, the award is named in honor of Morris A. Gold of Hydro- Flex Canada, an active member of CGA from 1979 to 2001 who championed the importance of CGA’s work both in Canada and in the United States. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding and long-term contributions made by an individual through leadership and participation in CGA Canada and the compressed gas industry. The award was presented to Kim Greenwood of Praxair Canada Inc.