The Compressed Gas Association (CGA) announced the winners of the 2016 safety awards at the Safety Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the association’s annual meeting in Coral Gables, Florida.

CGA is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial and medical gas industry.

Michael Tiller, CGA’s President and CEO, said, “The dedication to safety exhibited by the companies and the individuals we honour each year makes our industry safer for our employees, our distributors, our customers, and the public.”

Fleet Safety Excellence Award

Sponsored by Praxair, Inc., the award was created in 1988 to recognise outstanding safety performance among the industry’s bulk and cylinder truck delivery fleets. The award is based on a CGA member company’s total Vehicle Accident Frequency Rate. There are four categories for this award, two each for bulk vehicle fleets and cylinder vehicle fleets. The winners are:

Bulk Gas Transportation:

  • Less than 20 million miles – Matheson
  • More than 20 million miles – Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.

Cylinder Gas Transportation: 

  • Less than 3 million miles – Western International Gas & Cylinders Inc.
  • More than 3 million miles – Matheson

Health and safety compliance

Leonard Parker Pool Safety Award

Sponsored by Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., the award was created in 1978 in memory of Leonard Parker Pool, the founder and former chief executive of Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. The awards are presented annually to the participating CGA member companies that have recorded the greatest improvement in safety performance during the previous two years, and are based upon the total recordable case incidence rates as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. There are two divisions of the award based on employee exposure hours. The winners are: 

Group 1 – More than 2 million employee exposure hours – Linde North America Inc.

Group 2 – 2 million or less employee exposure hours – FIBA Technologies Inc.

CGA/GAWDA Distributor Safety Award

Sponsored by CGA and the Gases and Welding Distributors Association (GAWDA), the award programme was created in 2012. The awards honour the participating GAWDA distributor member companies that have shown the greatest improvement in safety performance. There are two divisions of the award. The winners are:

  • Group 1 – More than 100,000 employee exposure hours – CTR Inc.
  • Group 2 – 100,000 or fewer employee exposure hours – Spectrum Gas Products

New Committee Member of the Year Award

Sponsored by Chart Industries, this new service award was created in 2014. The award recognises an individual with less than three years of CGA committee participation for their character, commitment, and contribution to uphold and further the mission of the CGA—to develop and promote safety standards and safe practices for the industrial gas industry. 

The award was presented to Joseph Leonard of Airgas SAFECOR.

Charles H. Glasier Safety Award

Sponsored by American Air Liquide Holdings, this award was created in 1994 and is given in memory of Charles H. Glasier, a leader in the industry, a strong supporter of safety, a former CGA chairman (1980), and an active participant in the CGA for more than 40 years. The award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of their safety leadership in the industrial gas industry.

The award was presented to John Bernard of Praxair, Inc.

Environmental Recognition Award

Sponsored by Linde North America, Inc., and established in 2000, the CGA Environmental Recognition Programme identifies and shares good environmental practices as well as promotes environmental awareness and improvements with companies and the industry. Awards are presented annually to a CGA member facility, team, or individual who has demonstrated environmental excellence through environmental accomplishments going above and beyond regulatory requirements. Awards were given for the following project:

  •  Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.: Brine Recovery Reverse Osmosis Water Treatment System, Wilmington Hydrogen Plant 

  • Matheson: LED Lighting and Energy Reduction Initiative, Packaged Gas Operations 

  • Praxair, Inc.: Berm Enhancement Project, Burns Harbor Facility