The Compressed Gas Association (CGA) has announced the winners of the 2017 safety awards at the Safety Awards Banquet held in conjunction with the Association’s Annual Meeting in Wesley Chapel, Florida.

CGA is dedicated to the development and promotion of safety standards and safe practices in the industrial and medical gas industry.

Michael Tiller, CGA’s President and CEO, said, “The dedication to safety exhibited by the companies and the individuals we honour each year makes our industry safer for our employees, our distributors, our customers, and the public.”

Fleet Safety Excellence Award

Sponsored by Praxair, Inc., the award was created in 1988 to recognise outstanding safety performance among the industry’s bulk and cylinder truck delivery fleets. The award is based on a CGA member company’s total Vehicle Accident Frequency Rate. There are four categories for this award, two each for Bulk Vehicle Fleets and Cylinder Vehicle Fleets. The winners are:

Bulk bas transportation:

  • Less than 20 million miles – Matheson
  • More than 20 million miles – Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.

Cylinder gas transportation

  • Less than 3 million miles – Western International Gas & Cylinders Inc.
  • More than 3 million miles – Praxair, Inc. 

Leonard Parker Pool Safety Award went to…

  • Group 1 – More than 2 million employee exposure hours – Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.
  • Group 2 – 2 million or less employee exposure hours – Air Liquide Advanced Materials 

Sponsored by Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., the award was created in 1978 in memory of Leonard Parker Pool, the founder and former chief executive of Air Products and Chemicals, Inc. The awards are presented annually to the participating CGA member companies that have recorded the greatest improvement in safety performance during the previous two years and are based upon the total recordable case incidence rates as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. There are two divisions of the award based on employee exposure hours.

celebration, award, star

The New Committee Member of the Year Award went to…

Jack Butler of Butler Gas Products.

Sponsored by Chart Industries, this service award was created in 2014. The award recognises an individual with less than three years of CGA committee participation for their character, commitment, and contribution to uphold and further the mission of the CGA—to develop and promote safety standards and safe practices for the industrial gas industry.

The Charles H. Glasier Safety Award went to…

J. Robert Yeoman of B&R Compliance Associates LLC.

Sponsored by American Air Liquide Holdings, this award was created in 1994 and is given in memory of Charles H. Glasier, a leader in the industry, a strong supporter of safety, a former CGA chairman (1980), and an active participant in the CGA for more than 40 years. The award is presented annually to an individual in recognition of their safety leadership in the industrial gas industry.

Environmental Recognition Award 
went to…

  • Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.: Reverse Osmosis Water Treatment System Redesign and Replacement 

  • Indiana Oxygen Company: Recycling of Calcium Hydroxide 

  • Matheson: Argon Loss Reduction 

Sponsored by Linde North America, Inc., and established in 2000, the CGA Environmental Recognition Program identifies and shares good environmental practices as well as promotes environmental awareness and improvements with companies and the industry. Awards are presented annually to a CGA member facility, team, or individual who has demonstrated environmental excellence through environmental accomplishments going above and beyond regulatory requirements. 

CGA Canada Morris Gold Award 
went to…

Jacques Senechal of Air Liquide Canada.

Sponsored by CGA, and established in 2001, the award is named in honor of Morris A. Gold of Hydro- Flex Canada, an active member of CGA from 1979 to 2001 who championed the importance of CGA’s work both in Canada and in the United States. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding and long-term contributions made by an individual through leadership and participation in CGA Canada and the compressed gas industry.

H. Emerson Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award went to…

Michael E. Skrjanc of Praxair Inc., and to Michael Tiller, CGA’s outgoing President and CEO.

Sponsored by CGA, and established in 1997, the award is presented to an individual involved in CGA activities in recognition of leadership in standards development, safety procedures, and/or regulatory affairs. The award is based solely on the individual’s record of achievement on behalf of CGA and the industry; the individual’s reputation in the industry and recognition by other authorities; and his/her professional recognition (national, international).