Three hydrogen leaders were recognized with special awards during the NHA Annual Hydrogen Conference, held March 19-22, for their notable work in advancing the hydrogen industry.

General Motors Corporation, Catherine Dunwoody from the California Fuel Cell Partnership and the University of South Carolina were awarded in the areas of technology development, leadership, and education. NHA Chairman and Shell Hydrogen President Phil Baxley presented the awards last week in San Antonio, TX.

The General Motors Corporation was awarded the Special Member Award for the development of the Chevrolet Sequel, which was unveiled in September 2006. The Sequel is a technologically advanced automobile with a hydrogen fuel cell propulsion system and a broad menu of advanced technologies. The Sequel has an unprecedented range of 300 miles between fill-ups and spirited acceleration, attaining 60 mph in 10 seconds.

Catherine Dunwoody, Executive Director of the California Fuel Cell Partnership, was presented the Meritorious Service Award for her leadership, professional contributions and personal commitment to the advancement of hydrogen fuel cell transportation over the past decade.

The University of South Carolina was given the Dr. Robert M. Zweig Public Education Award for its vast undergraduate and graduate hydrogen program. The program includes over 350 courses of study, and has entered into 15 corporate partnerships and cooperative agreements to advance USC's hydrogen and fuel cell development efforts in Europe, Asia, and North America.

The NHA presents these awards each year to those who have helped further the development of the hydrogen industry. $quot;We applaud these industry and education leaders today because they truly reflect our energy and environmental futures,$quot; commented Phil Baxley. $quot;We value their achievements and they inspire us.$quot;