In an industry where safety can be a matter of life and death, Air Liquide's annual president's awards recognise the careful achievements of plants across the US.

This years ceremony, recognising safety achievements in 2006, was recently held in Houston by the company's senior management team. This years winners included the acetylene plant in Portland, Oregon; the Texas based LaPorte Air Separation Unit and other teams from each of Air Liquide's primary subsidiaries.

Driver safety was also recognised, honouring drivers that have reached significant driving milestone. These careful cabbies include Jesse Heath from Georgia with an impressive 25,000 safe hours of driving under his belt, and Tom Christensen from Utah with a staggering three million safe miles of road ridden.

Pierre Dufour, president of American Air Liquide Holdings praised the dedication of this years winners saying, $quot;The commitment to operate safely and reliably is shared by Air Liquide teams in each of our localities and throughout the world. Its importance is unconditional, and its realisation is essential to the people and business of our company. The President's Safety Awards programme recognises outstanding examples of the commitment and dedication to working safely.$quot;